Shocking: Chief Ministers got defeated


The results of the five state assembly elections have thrown up many surprises. Except in Congress-ruled Manipur, anti-incumbency wave was very strong. The anti-incumbency wave was so powerful that, in Goa and Uttarkhand even chief ministers lost their constituency.

Harish Rawat is a senior leader in Congress and he is the chief Minister of Uttarakhand. In the results released today, BJP has swept the polls and the BJP wave was so strong that even CM Harish Rawat lost his constituency. In a quite humiliating manner, while Harish Rawat contested for MLA in two constituencies of Kichcha and Haridwar Rural, he lost both.

While BJP and Modi wave swept UP and Uttarakhand, it failed to create any impact in Goa. BJP has not just got a beating in Goa, but even its Chief Minister lost. Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar lost from his constituency Mandrem. Now he can’t even be an MLA. At a time wen BJP cadres are celebrating across India, Goa CM’s defeat came as a bitter news for them.

Meanwhile in Punjab, winning Congress CM candidate Captain Amarinder Singh lost to outgoing Punjab CM Prakash Singh Badal in Lambi constituency. However Amarinder Singh also contested in Patiala and won from there.